Continuing our introduction to permaculture, this week we discussed permaculture ethics and design principles.

The three permaculture ethics are:

  1. Earth care
  2. People care
  3. Fair share

The twelve permaculture design principles are:

  1. Observe and interact
  2. Catch and store energy
  3. Obtain a yield
  4. Apply self regulation and accept feedback
  5. Use and value renewable resources and services
  6. Produce no waste
  7. Design from patterns to details
  8. Integrate rather than segregate
  9. Use small and slow solutions
  10.  Use and value diversity
  11. Use edges and value the marginal
  12. Creatively use and respond to change

Full descriptions of the permaculture ethics and design principles can be found here.

We also went over David Holgren’s permaculture flower, which outlines specific fields, design systems and solutions that aim to create a sustainable culture. A downloadable version can be found here in both English and Spanish.

Charlie explaining the seven areas of the permaculture flower.

The group discussed in English and Spanish ways we are helping to create a sustainable culture.

There are seven areas to consider:

1. Land and Nature Stewardship (such as organic agriculture, keyline water harvesting and integrated aquaculture)

2. Building (Passive solar design, eco-housing, natural construction materials)

3. Tools and Technology (reuse and creative recycling, efficient and low pollution wood stoves, energy storage)

4. Education and Culture (Home schooling, transition culture, Waldorf education)

5. Health and Spiritual Well-being (home birth & breast feeding, holistic medicine, yoga)

6. Finances and Economics (WWOOFing, Farmers Markets, Community Supported Agriculture)

7. Land Tenure and Community Governance (cooperatives, ecovillages, consensus decision making)

While many of us consciously cultivate these areas of our lives, the permaculture flower helps us to focus on making our way of being more practical and sustainable.

Taino farm volunteers Karin and Honza taking notes on the permaculture flower.

Taino farm volunteers Karin and Honza taking notes on the permaculture flower and coloring their own.

We also watched a video in which Geoff Lawton gives an overview of all of the Zones found in a permaculture design. You can find information about Zone 1 in my last blog post.

-Zone 2 is the area where you will find main crops as well as small animals that need regular attention (such as poultry or rabbits). It can contain food forests that are frequently visited.

-Zone 3 is typically used for self-fed animals (such as cattle) as well as other farm forestry.

-Zone 4 often is where wood fuel comes from and where mushrooms are cultivated.

-Zone 5 is wilderness. Though it may be used for foraging and hunting, it is mainly left untouched and is used for contrast and inspiration.

Fresh green beans, eggs, kale, tomatoes and avocado for lunch at the farm.

We packed a lot into the lesson and still had time to enjoy a fantastic farm fresh organic lunch together!